The Lake Nona Life Project carves out a unique opportunity for community members, business, academia, government, and medicine to unite in the areas of health and wellness and conduct research beyond traditional models.


The Lake Nona Research Council serves as the internal Scientific Advisory Board.  Members of the Lake Nona Research Council are as follows:

Kenneth Alexander, MD, PhD, Nemours Children’s Hospital

Patricio Bruno, DO, Associate Medical Director, Department of Veterans Affairs, SimLEARN

Terri Finkel, MD, PhD, Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Pediatrician-in-Chief, Chief Scientific Officer, Nemours Children’s Hospital

Adam Golden, MD, MBA, Associate Chief of Staff, Geriatrics & Extended Care, Orlando VA Medical Center Professor, Internal Medicine, UCF College of Medicine

Robert Herzog, MEd, Vice President of Research Operations, AdventHealth

Shawn Mason PhD, LP, Director of Research Outcomes, Johnson & Johnson- Founding Principal Investigator

Griffith Parks, PhD, Director and Professor, Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Central Florida, College of Medicine

Thomas Pearson, MD, MPH, PhD, Executive Vice President for Research and Education, Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine, UF Health

Edward Ross, MD, Chair Department of Internal Medicine, University of Central Florida, College of Medicine

Jennifer Shehata, MPA, Director of Network and Competitive Analytics, Florida Blue

Steven Smith, MD, Chief Scientific Officer, AdventHealth


Gloria Caulfield, Vice President of Strategic Alliances, Tavistock Development Company; Executive Director, Lake Nona Institute - Co-Investigator

William Fair, Director of Strategic Research, Lake Nona Research Institute

Sampath Parthasarathy, PhD, MBA, Florida Hospital Chair in Cardiovascular Sciences, Professor of Medicine, University of Central Florida, College of Medicine

Patricia Robinson, PhD, ARNP, NE-BC,  Senior Director, Multi Center Research, AdventHealth Research Institute - Principal Scientist for the Lake Nona Life Project

Stephan Schmidt, MD, PhD, F.C.P, Associate Director Center for Pharmacometrics and Systems Pharmacology (CPSP) and Professor, University of Florida, College of Pharmacy

Jennifer Turgiss, DrPH, MS, Vice President, Behavior Science and Advanced Analytics, Johnson & Johnson

Jacques Turgeon, B. Pharm., PhD, FCAHS, University of Florida College of Pharmacy, Professor of Pharmaceuticals and Associate Dean of the Lake Nona Campus